Trio from area get state sports nominations

WINSTON-SALEM, NC- Two sportswriters and a sportscaster from the Cape-Atlantic League area are among the finalists for New Jersey state awards according to the National Sports Media Association here.

Mike McGarry and Dave Weinberg are finalists for the state’s Sportswriter of the Year and Tom Williams is a finalist for New Jersey Sportscaster of the Year

McGarry is the longtime sportswriter and columnist for The Press of Atlantic City. He not only covers high school sports but also the Phillies, 76ers and other Philly teams. McGarry is a finalist for the fifth time and has won the top state award twice, the last time in 2016.

Weinberg, a columnist for 97.3-ESPN and a chain of weekly newspapers, has won the state award three times, the last in 2012. Weinberg is a state finalist for the 20th time.

Williams – play-by-play voice, producer and online coordinator for Prime Events and occasional voice and producer for 97.3-ESPN – has won the state award a record 10 times, the last in 2017. This is his 34th time as a state finalist.

There are three other state finalists for the sports writing award, all from NJ Advance Media/the Star-Ledger – James Kratch, Marc Narducci and Keith Sargeant. The other state finalist for the sportscaster award is Jerry Recco of Rutgers Sports Properties.

In addition to McGarry, Weinberg and Williams, who have won a combined 15 state awards, four others from the area have also been honored as best in the state in previous years. They include Mike Gill of 97.3-ESPN, Mike Frankel of Jersey Sports Zone, Brian Cunniff of Coast Sports Today and the late Harry Hoffman of the Press of Atlantic City.

The finalists for Pennsylvania Sportscaster of the Year are Marc Zumoff of NBC Philadelphia and Scott Franzke of the Phillies Network.

The finalists for 2021 National Sportscaster of the Year are Brian Anderson, CBS; Malika Andrews, ESPN; Charles Barkley, Turner; Joe Buck, Fox; Kevin Harlan, CBS; Ernie Johnson, Turner; Al Michaels, NBC; Jim Nantz, CBS; Mike Tirico, NBC; and Scott Van Pelt, ESPN.

Final nominees for National Sportswriter include Christine Brennan, USA Today; Jerry Brewer, Washington Post; Pat Forde, Sports Illustrated; Jeff Passan,; Ken Rosenthal, The Athletic; Katie Strang, The Athletic; Wright Thompson,; Jim Trotter, NFL Media; Tom Verducci, Sports Illustrated; and Dan Wetzel, Yahoo! Sports.

Sportscasters nominated for induction into the NSMA Hall of Fame include Tim Brando, Hubie Brown, James Brown, Joe Buck, Tom Hammond, Tom Jackson, Tony Kubek, Tim McCarver, Pam Oliver and Stuart Scott.

Sportswriters nominated for the Hall of Fame include Christopher Clarey, Ray Didinger, Mike Downey, Peter Finney, Jerry Green, Sid Hartman, Curry Kirkpatrick, Jackie MacMullen, Claire Smith and Wendell Smith.

Voting for the state and national winners by NSMA members is underway and will continue throughout December. The NSMA plans to honor all winners at the group’s 63rd awards program in Winston-Salem from June 25-27.

NSMA logo.png



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s