Three from area nominated for state sports awards

WINSTON-SALEM, NC- Two sportscasters and a sportswriter from this area are among the finalists for New Jersey state awards according to the National Sports Media Association here.

Rich Van Noord and Tom Williams are finalists for New Jersey Sportscaster of the Year. And Dave Weinberg is a finalist for the state’s Sportswriter of the Year.

Van Noord has been named a state finalist for the first time. He has been Quinn Broadcasting’s play-by-play voice of Millville High School football on both radio and video for the past 23 years.

Williams – play-by-play voice, producer and online coordinator for Prime Events and play-by-play voice and producer for 97.3-ESPN and Coastal Broadcasting – has won the state award 10 times, the last in 2017. This is his 33rd time as a state finalist.

Weinberg, a columnist for 97.3-ESPN and a chain of weekly newspapers, has won the state award three times, the last in 2012. Weinberg is a finalist for the 19th time.

The other state finalist for the sports writing award is Steve Politi of and The Star Ledger. Politi is nominated a fifth time and won twice, including last year. The other finalist for the sportscaster award is Chris Carlin, a first time nominee and the nighttime host on 98.7-ESPN in New York.

Another sportscaster with a local history – John Clark of NBC-10 in Philadelphia – is a finalist for Pennsylvania Sportscaster of the Year. Clark formerly worked at NBC-40 in Linwood. He is joined by two other PA finalists, Michael Barkann and Jim Jackson, both of the NBC Sports Philadelphia.

The finalists for 2020 National Sportscaster of the Year are Mike Breen, ESPN; Joe Buck, Fox; Doris Burke, ESPN; Mike Emrick, NBC; Kevin Harlan, CBS; Al Michaels, NBC; Jim Nantz, CBS; Tony Romo, CBS; Mike Tirico, NBC; and Scott Van Pelt, ESPN.

Final nominees for National Sportswriter include Nicole Auerbach, The Atlantic; Christine Brennan, USA Today; Pat Forde, Sports Illustrated; Peter King,; Jeff Passan,; Ken Rosenthal, The Athletic; Adam Schefter,; Wright Thompson,; Tom Verducci, Sports Illustrated; Dan Wetzel, Yahoo! Sports; and Adrian Wojnarowski,

Sportscasters nominated for induction into the NSMA Hall of Fame include Tim Brando, Fox; James Brown, CBS; Joe Buck, Fox; Chris Economaki, ABC; Tom Jackson, ESPN; Dan Kelly, CBS; Bill King, Oakland/San Francisco; Tim McCarver, Fox; Jim Nantz, CBS; and Dick Stockton, CBS.

Sportswriters nominated for the Hall of Fame include Ray Didinger, Philadelphia; Mike Downey, The Sporting News; Peter Finney, New Orleans; Jerry Green, Detroit; Larry Merchant, Philadelphia; William Nack, Sports Illustrated; William Rhoden, NY Times; Claire Smith, NY Times; Wendell Smith, Pittsburgh; and Rick Telander, Sports Illustrated.

Voting for the state and national winners by NSMA members will begin Dec. 1 and continue throughout December. The NSMA hopes to honor all winners at the group’s 62nd awards program in Winston-Salem from June 26-28. The 2019 winners, including NJ Sportscaster Mike Frankel of Jersey Sports Zone, will also be honored in June since last year’s ceremonies were cancelled by the COVID-19 quarantine.

NSMA logo.png

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s