New WJFL divisions for next two football seasons


During a week when area football fans are getting ready for a second Ocean City-Mainland game in nine days, the West Jersey Football League announced its division alignment for the next two years.

And the Raiders and Mustangs are no longer in the same division.

Ocean City will again be grouped with Absegami, Egg Harbor Township and Oakcrest but will be joined the next two seasons by Seneca and Pemberton.

Mainland will move into an entirely new division with Clearview, Deptford, Delsea and Hammonton.

Bridgeton moved into a division with Atlantic City, Cherry Hill East, Cherry Hill West, Paul VI and Triton.

One interesting new division finds Cedar Creek, Holy Spirit and Pleasantville teamed with Camden, Winslow Township and Woodrow Wilson.

There are four other divisions that include Cape-Atlantic League schools.

Buena is teamed with Paulsboro, Penns Grove, Woodstown, Salem and Gateway.

Middle Township and Lower Cape May are in the same division with Clayton, Cumberland, Pennsville and Schalick.

Millville and Vineland are back in the same division after a few years apart, joining St. Augustine, Lenape, Shawnee and Williamstown.

And St. Joseph is paired with Cherokee, Eastern, Kingsway, Rancocas Valley and Washington Township.

These divisions will start with the 2020 football season and continue in 2021.

Additional crossover games will be assigned for each team at a later date.

We can hopefully expect Ocean City and Mainland to be matched up in one of them.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s