Bowman, Dirkes win Billy Schoppy Awards

A pair of three-sport athletes have won the 22nd annual Billy Schoppy Awards, presented this year to the top athletes in the Cape-Atlantic League Class of 2022.

Calem Bowman of Millville and Camryn Dirkes of Mainland are this year’s Billy Schoppy Award winners, selected out of a group of 12 finalists. The presentations were scheduled to be made on Monday but the event had to be cancelled because of COVID exposure.

Bowman was a key two-way player on Millville’s championship football team. He was also the captain and all star on the basketball team and a championship jumper in track. He will attend Post University and continue his football career.

Dirkes led Mainland to a South Jersey title in basketball, was an all star in soccer and was South Jersey Group 3 champion in the triple jump and third in the state in the long jump. She will attend the University of Georgia.

Bowman is the second Millville athlete to win the award (bet you can guess the other one!). That’s right, he joins Mike Trout (2009) as the two Thunderbolts to win. Dirkes is also the second winner at her school, joining Alyssa Aldridge (2018).

The other male finalists were LeQuint Allen of Millville; JoJo Bermudez of Cedar Creek; Trevor Cohen of Holy Spirit; Charley Cossaboone of Ocean City; David Giulian of Middle Township; Austin Hudak of Hammonton; Carlos Lopez of Egg Harbor Township; Cohl Mercado and Ja’son Prevard of St. Joseph; Kanye Udoh of St. Augustine; and Ray Weed of Absegami.

The 2022 female finalists were Kaitlyn Boggs and Julianna Medina of Mainland; Nina Ceccanecchio of Our Lady of Mercy; Jenna Crawford of Cedar Creek; Leah Ellis and Olivia Giordano of Millville; Jackie Fortis of Absegami; Megan Fox of Atlantic City; Summer Reimet of Ocean City; Brianna Robinson of Middle Township; and Grace Speer of Atlantic Tech.

The awards originated in 2001 when Jason Kaye of “The Flagship Resort” in Atlantic City sponsored the awards. In 2012, Dave Talarico and “Schoppy’s since 1921”, the area’s finest trophy and award creator, became the sponsor. And in 2017 the award was changed to The Billy Schoppy Award as a memorial to Billy Schoppy, the son of William Schoppy, who created the business, as it says in its name, in 1921.

The list of previous winners, plus all finalists over the last 21 years, is available HERE.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s