The 12 male finalists for the Billy Schoppy Award


For the past 20 years the Billy Schoppy Awards (originally the Flagship Awards) have honored the top senior athletes in the Cape-Atlantic League.

Though the COVID-19 pandemic has changed high school sports this spring, the awards will continue.

In case you missed the announcement today on Mike Gill’s 97.3-ESPN Sports Bash, here are the 12 boys whose high school careers have made them finalists for the 2020 Billy Schoppy Awards.

Kevin Antczak
Kevin Antczak, Mainland
Ahmad Brown
Ahmad Brown, Holy Spirit
Jada Byers
Jada Byers. St. Joseph
Jake Cook
Jake Cook, Mainland


Kevin Foreman
Kevin Foreman, St. Augustine
Karl Giulian
Karl Giulian, Middle Township
Elijah Gray
E’lijah Gray, Holy Spirit
Deston Lasco
Destin Lasco, Mainland
Max Melton
Max Melton
Gabriel Moronta
Gabriel Moronta, Pleasantville
Alejandro Rosado
Alejandro Rosado, Pleasantville
Taj Thweatt
Taj Thweatt, Wildwood Catholic

The winner of the Billy Schoppy Award for the Class of 2020 will be announced and interviewed Monday by Mike Gill on 97.3-ESPN.

The Billy Schoppy Award was created by Prime Events and Schoppy Inc. The lists of previous winners and finalists are available here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s