Ryan Saul is OCHS Boys Soccer Player of the Decade


In the last 22 seasons, the Ocean City Boys Soccer team has played in the South Jersey championship game 16 times. Aaron Bogushefsky, a former player on those teams and now the program’s head coach, developed teams the last 10 seasons that maintained that level of success throughout in the second decade of the 21st century. That decade concluded with a great effort this fall that propelled them to another final with four straight away tournament games. His Raiders won 23 NJSIAA tournament games during the decade, won two South Jersey championships, a trio of Cape-Atlantic League titles and captured the first CAL Tournament crown.

As you must imagine, there were many talented players wearing the red and white during the decade. The best of the best was Ryan Saul, who anchored a defense for three seasons that reached the South Jersey final all three times, winning twice, and allowed just 0.64 goals per game over the three years. He was all-state, All South Jersey and a CAL first team all star.

Joining Saul on the all-decade defense are Steve Pashuck, Logan Bloomstead and Matt Zelinski, all first team CAL all stars.

The midfielders are Andrew Kimball, Brendan McFarlane, Kyle Millar, Josiah Nistorenko and Matt Brook.

And on the attack are Zack Sakena, Aaron King, Hunter Paone and Fisher Hudak.

The goalkeepers – Kieran Keyser and Russ Lindsay – were, like the rest of the lineup, all stars in the Cape-Atlantic League.

More about OCHS boys soccer is available here.

It was another successful decade of boys soccer at OCHS with talent that went even deeper than those on this All-Decade Team. The best of them all in the decade was Ryan Saul, who joins Kyle Evans (1st Decade), Chad Severs (1990s) and Brendan Gallagher (1980s) as Ocean City High School Boys Soccer Players of the Decade.

This is the 11th of 21 OCHS All-Decade teams. You can review the previous 2010-19 Ocean City All-Decade teams here.

Up next will be the Girls Soccer Team of the Decade.
OCHS Boys Soccer in the 2nd Decade
2010…….. 8-12-1….Aaron Bogushefsky
2011……..17-4-1…..Aaron Bogushefsky
2012…….. 6-9-4……Aaron Bogushefsky
2013……..19-4-2…..Aaron Bogushefsky
2014……..19-4-1…..Aaron Bogushefsky
2015……..11-9-2…..Aaron Bogushefsky
2016……..14-4-1…..Aaron Bogushefsky
2017……..18-3-1…..Aaron Bogushefsky
2018……..15-5-1…..Aaron Bogushefsky
2019…….. 9-8-1……Aaron Bogushefsky

The 2nd Decade Raider Boys Soccer Team
Forward – Zack Sakena (2013)
Forward – Aaron King (2014)
Forward – Hunter Paone (2018)
Forward – Fisher Hudak (2019)
Midfield – Andrew Kimball (2011)
Midfield – Brendan McFarlane (2013)
Midfield – Kyle Millar (2014)
Midfield – Josiah Nistorenko (2017)
Midfield – Matt Brook (2018)
Defense – Steve Pashuck (2013)
Defense – Ryan Saul (2015)
Defense – Logan Bloomstead (2016)
Defense – Matt Zelinski (2017)
Goal – Kieran Keyser (2011)
Goal – Russ Lindsay (2015)

Ryan Saul.jpg
Ryan Saul

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s