Area trio finalists for NJ sports awards

WINSTON-SALEM, NC- Two sportscasters and a sportswriter from this area are among the finalists for New Jersey state awards according to the National Sports Media Association (formerly known as the National Sportscasters & Sportswriters Association) here.

Mike Frankel and Tom Williams are finalists for New Jersey Sportscaster of the Year. And Dave Weinberg is a finalist for the state’s Sportswriter of the Year.

Frankel, primary reporter for Jersey Sports Zone, is the former sports director and anchor at NBC-40 and SNJ Today, who also does some work with Prime Events. He is a state finalist for the fourth time.

Williams – play-by-play voice, producer and online coordinator for Prime Events and play-by-play voice and producer for 97.3-ESPN and Coastal Broadcasting – has won the state award 10 times, the last in 2017. This is his 32nd time as a state finalist.

Weinberg, a columnist who also covers the Eagles, boxing and high schools for the Press of Atlantic City, has won the state award three times, the last in 2012. Weinberg is a finalist for the 18th time.

The other state finalist for the sports writing award is Steve Politi of and The Star Ledger. Politi is nominated a fourth time and won in 2015.

Another sportscaster with a local history – John Clark of NBC-10 in Philadelphia – is a finalist for Pennsylvania Sportscaster of the Year. Clark formerly worked at NBC-40 in Linwood. He is joined by one other PA finalist, Scott Franzke of the Phillies Radio Network.

The finalists for 2019 National Sportscaster of the Year are Mike Breen, ESPN; Joe Buck, Fox; Ian Eagle, CBS; Mike Emrick, NBC; Kevin Harlan, CBS; Al Michaels, NBC; Jim Nantz, CBS; Dan Patrick, Sirius-XM; Tony Romo, CBS; Dan Shulman, ESPN; Mike Tirico, NBC; and Scott Van Pelt, ESPN.

Final nominees for National Sportswriter include Christine Brennan, USA Today; Pat Forde, Yahoo Sports; Peter King,; Buster Olney,; Jeff Passan,; Ken Rosenthal, The Athletic; Jayson Stark, The Athletic; Wright Thompson, ESPN The Magazine; Tom Verducci, Sports Illustrated; Dan Wetzel, Yahoo! Sports; and Adrian Wojnarowski,

Sportscasters nominated for induction into the NSMA Hall of Fame include James Brown, CBS; Joe Buck, CBS; Skip Caray, Atlanta Braves TV; Greg Gumbel, NBC; Dan Kelly, CBS; Bill King, Oakland/San Francisco; Cawood Ledford, Univ. of Kentucky Radio; Tim McCarver, Fox; Pam Oliver, Fox; and Dan Patrick, ESPN.

Sportswriters nominated for the Hall of Fame include Ira Berkow, NY Times; Ray Didinger, Philadelphia; Mike Downey, The Sporting News; William Nack, Sports Illustrated; Bill Plaschke, LA Times; Claire Smith, Philadelphia Inquirer; Rick Telander, Sports Illustrated; Tom Verducci, Sports Illustrated; Mike Wilbon, Washington Post; and Dick Young, NY Daily News.

Voting for the state and national winners by NSMA members will begin Sunday and continue throughout December. All winners will be honored at the group’s 61st annual awards program in Winston-Salem from June 27-29.

NSMA logo.png

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s