Danielle Donoghue is OCHS Girls Lacrosse Player of Decade


Alyssa-Rae Morrison and Joe LaTorre were hired by Ocean City High School athletics director Chris Lentz at the same time, almost seven years ago. Like LaTorre with the boys, Morrison has built the girls lacrosse program into a consistent winner.

And Danielle Donoghue has been a very big part of it.

Donoghue was a two-time first team all star in the Cape-Atlantic League and the school’s first player to be selected as an All-American. She is third in OCHS career goals, first in assists, is the all-time leader in groundballs and was one of the best in the state in draw controls won. And she did it against the most challenging schedule the Raiders have played. Ocean City was 67-12 in her four years in the lineup against that schedule.

All of this adds up to Donoghue being the OCHS Girls Lacrosse Player of the Second Decade.

She is joined on the All-Decade team (2010-19) by the Raiders’ all-time leading scorers – Tess Solazzo, one of the top goal scorers in South Jersey history, and Emily DiMarino, who also scored more than 250 times. Making the attack complete are Mackenzie Lindquist, a two-time all star, and Kristi Rohrer, an all star who was one of the school’s assist leaders.

Joining Donoghue at midfield are Megan Devlin, a three-time first team all star; Kelly Hanna, the school’s fifth greatest scorer; and another pair of first team all stars – Mikala Gillespie and Anna Devlin.

The defense is anchored by two-time all star Sara Dalsey and also includes CAL all stars Jenn Staab, Brittney Stein and Hailey Stack.

In goal is the only member of this All-Decade team who still has a season to play – Abbey Fenton, a first team all star who holds three school goalkeeping records as she enters her senior year in September.

More about OCHS girls lacrosse, including school records and the CAL stat leaders, is available here.

Danielle Donoghue, headed to Mount St. Mary’s University in Maryland, joins Casey Beyel (1st Decade) as Ocean City High School Girls Lacrosse Players of the Decade.

Next week – the Crew Teams of the Decade.


OCHS Girls Lacrosse in the Second Decade


2010….12-5….Matt Lane

2011….15-3….Matt Lane – CAL champions

2012….16-4.…Matt Lane – CAL champions

2013….15-4….Alyssa-Rae Preis – CAL champions

2014….10-9….Alyssa-Rae Preis

2015….18-4….Alyssa-Rae Preis – CAL champions

2016….17-3….Alyssa-Rae Preis

2017….14-3….Alyssa-Rae Morrison – CAL champions

2018….17-3….Alyssa-Rae Morrison – CAL champions

2019….19-3….Alyssa-Rae Morrison – conference champions


The Second Decade

Raider Girls Lacrosse Team

Att- Mackenzie Lindquist (2011)

Att- Tess Solazzo (2013)

Att- Kristi Rohrer (2015)

Att- Emily DiMarino (2019)

Mid- Megan Devlin (2012)

Mid- Kelly Hanna (2014)

Mid- Mikala Gillespie (2015)

Mid- Anna Devlin (2019)

Mid- Danielle Donoghue (2019)

Def- Jenn Staab (2011)

Def- Sara Dalsey (2013)

Def- Brittney Stein (2016)

Def- Hailey Stack (2018)

GK- Abbey Fenton (2020)


Danielle Donoghue lacrosse.jpg
Danielle Donoghue – Girls Lacrosse Player of the Decade



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s